The Modern Homemaker @ NaNoWriMo 2011 – I Signed Up

Hello you.

I want to write more. And I want to learn how to write. Oh I also would like to try writing a novel. Even though the last time I read a novel was a while back. I can’t remember what it was. These days I suffer from information overload but I love it. I just want to do more and more and more before my time out period ends. Or maybe it will never end. Maybe I can write forever. That would be very nice.

So I am now a participant in The National Novel Writing Month 2011.

The National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo for short is a big writing exercise where participants each endeavour to write a 50,000 (approximately 175 page) novel within a month.

Participants will start writing on November 1 and will have to submit their 50,000 novel by 11:59:59, November 30.

The folks at NaNoWriMo say:

“Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.

Because of the limited writing window, the ONLY thing that matters in NaNoWriMo is output. It’s all about quantity, not quality. This approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly.

Make no mistake: You will be writing a lot of crap. And that’s a good thing. By forcing yourself to write so intensely, you are giving yourself permission to make mistakes. To forgo the endless tweaking and editing and just create. To build without tearing down.

In 2010, we had over 200,000 participants. More than 30,000 of them crossed the 50K finish line by the midnight deadline, entering into the annals of NaNoWriMo superstardom forever. They started the month as auto mechanics, out-of-work actors, and middle school English teachers. They walked away novelists.”

This is my profile with NaNoWriMo:

“I’m 31. I’m not paid for blogging/writing these days. But I really enjoy it. I think I found my calling.

I need to improve my blogging/writing and to be more prolific. Often tongue-tied.

Hopefully, the NaNoWriMo 2011 challenge will give me verbal diarrhoea of the good type.

This is my time out. These days, I cram my life with projects and try to kill myself by bending time. I really just need to confirm the calling I think I have now found is not a fad. Like most other things in my life.

But I suppose if I leave behind a 50,000 word novel, my writing would be more than a passing fad. And that would lend a lot more credibility to my life.”

I am supposed to prepare an outline for my novel too. But I have not started. Please feed me some ideas, help!

Yours truly,

I-Ping

Related articles
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Modern Homemaker @ NaNoWriMo 2011 – I Signed Up

  1. Random says:

    Whether you need an outline or not depends on your personality and process, I think. I suggest browsing through the nanowrimo.org website and forums because a lot of people are in the same boat and ideas are flying around all over the place!

  2. Hello there…thks for tips will check out soon! I am compiling some useful links on this blog for sharing with other NaNoWriMo writers. Should be ready later today. Pls check it out when you have the time. Hope it will be useful!

Please Share Your Thoughts.

